Creative Nonfiction

I got blank stares. My sister, the ever-perfect English student, declared the phrase to be an oxymoron. My dad said that the genre was full of lies. My brother just stared, slowly, he raised his finger… Yeah… That’s pretty much the reaction I received. And somewhere I realized that the hybrid of nonfiction and creative writing would never be accepted by such stubborn purists. That pretty much nuked that conversation, and I don’t know if it was because I had gone out of their league of thinking, or what. But I do know one thing, if my IPad Mini doesn’t stop messing up my post with ridiculous autocorrect suggestions, I’m going to chuck it across the room! But I digress. Creative Nonfiction was not well-received  in my family, to put it lightly. Further explanations were futile. 

Leave a Reply

